Quality of Intraoperative Cerebral Protection

Completed August 2014 - 25 centres

Prize winner at AAGBI WSM 2015

QUINCE (The Quality of Intraoperative Cerebral Protection) was the first collaborative project by PLAN. It was originally intended to test the network feasibility but eventually 87 anaesthetists collected data on nearly 500 in 25 hospitals across London. The findings were marked: systolic hypotension affected over 80% of elderly patients undergoing general anaesthesia, with low uptakes of depth of anaesthesia monitoring and tight ETCO2 control. In completing QUINCE, PLAN was able to test its ability to deliver high quality large scale trainee led projects. The project won 2nd prize in the AAGBI Winter Scientific Meeting audit category in January 2015, has been published in abstract form in Anaesthesia and a full peer reviewed manuscript publication in Perioperative Medicine Journal. Finally, QUINCE formed the groundwork for a national project (iHypE) which will be conducted in collaboration with RAFT later in 2016 (http://www.i-hype.org).


Dr Alex Wickham
Imperial School of Anaesthesia (NW)

Further info email: plan@uk-plan.net


Peer reviewed Manuscript
Wickham A, Highton D, Martin D, Pan London Perioperative Audit and Research Network (PLAN). Care of elderly patients: a prospective audit of the prevalence of hypotension and the use of BIS intraoperatively in 25 hospitals in London. Perioperative Medicine 2016; 5:12





Charing Cross

Drinka Uzeirbegovic
Alex Wickham
Akshay Shah


Vinnie Sodhi
Zara Edwards
Alex Wickham

St Mary's

Glenn Arnold
Linden Baxter
Paul Halford

Chelsea & Westminster

Carsten Bantel
Harriet Wordworth

Royal Marsden

Shaman Jhanji
Stuart Cleland
Oliver Blightman

Northwick Park

Kausi Rao
Ken Murray

Central Middlesex

Lliam Edger
Linden Baxter

Kings College Hospital

Phil Hopkins
James Gill

Guys/St Thomas'

Cheng Ong
Jan Schumacher
Stuart McCorkell
Sibtain Anwar
Steve Barrett
Toni Boyce
Jo Wilson
Sarah Hodge

Princess Royal University Hospital

Roshmi Kumar
Nadia Blunt
Amy Dukoff-Gordon
Farrah Ayob
George Perrett

William Harvey

Joanna Moore
James Bland

The Royal London/Barts

Anil Visram
Annie Hunningher
Mevan Gooneratne
James O'carrol
Lena Al-Shammari

Queen's Hospital Romford

Ahmer Mosharaf
Anna Markiewicz
Rebecca Szekely
Omar Hussain


Finn Nesbit
Sophia Grobler
Brian Hogan

St George's

Carolyn Johnston
Ximena Watson
Maria Chereshneva
Sioned Philips

East Surrey

Simon Parrington
Peter Odor

Royal Surrey

Matt Dickinson
Sam Bampoe
Alice Loughnan
Ramy Mottaleb

Ashford & St Peter's

Alice O'Neil
Sam Ma


Vanessa Cowie
Craig Johnstone

Epsom & St. Helier

Andrew Bailey

University College Hospital

Ed Burdett
Shilpa Patel

Royal Free Hospital

Dan Martin
Sonia Renwick
Clare Morkane
Kerry Elliot


Val Luoma
Rob John


Trudi Young
Duncan Wagstaff

Great Ormond Street

Helen Hume Smith


Junia Rahman
Jon Mathers

Lister Hospital, Stevenage

Shan Gowrie
Lisa Nicholls

Twitter Feed