Pain Assessment in Intensive Care

Completed March 2015 - 44 centres

Collaboration between PLAN and SEARCH KSS

PAINT was the second project run by PLAN and involved collaboration with the Kent, Surrey and Sussex trainee network (SEARCH KSS). This retrospective audit reviewed the level of documentation of pain by doctors and nurses in the intensive care unit and the tools being utilised to assess pain.

Data collection took place in spring 2015 and recruited 45 separate ICU departments. Data were collected to evaluate one 24-hour period of care for 750 patients, reflecting the practice of 427 doctors.
Headline results included a reduction in doctor documentation of pain assessments compared with other system reviews such as cardiovascular, respiratory or gastrointestinal. When documentation occurred, most doctors did not use a validated assessment tool for pain, especially in patients potentially unable to communicate. Notably around a quarter of patients did not receive a nursing pain assessment during the study period.

Pan-network and site specific results were disseminated to each site during summer 2015, with the main results presented in October at the European Society for Intensive Care Medicine Lives 2015 conference in Berlin. An abstract comparing practice in cardiothoracic and general intensive care units has been submitted the 2016 American Thoracic Society Annual Congress and further abstracts looking at specific pain related aspects will be submitted to the 2016 IASP World Congress for Pain. Currently a paper is being constructed to account for multilevel statistical analysis with the aim for submission for publication in spring 2016.

PAINT leads

Dr Harriet Wordsworth
Dr Helen Laycock
Dr Carsten Bantel
Imperial School of Anaesthesia (NW)

Dr Omar Siddique

Further info email:


Peer reviewed Manuscript
Pain Assessment in INTensive care (PAINT): an observational study of physician-documented pain assessment in 45 intensive care units in the United Kingdom. Kemp HI, Bantel C, Gordon F, Brett SJ, PLAN, SEARCH, Laycock HC. Anaesthesia 2017; 72 (6): 737-748

Pilot Abstract
Documentation of pain in an intensive care unit by doctors

European Society for Intensive Care Medicine Lives 2015 Book_Final.pdf


Core Committee

Daniel Martin
David Highton
Carsten Bantel
Harriet Wordsworth
Helen Laycock
Phil Hopkins
Sibtain Anwar
Carolyn Johnston
Pete Odor
Sam Bampoe
Sioned Phillips
Anil Visram
Mevan Gooneratne
James O'Carroll

University College Hospital

Ed Burdett
Rosie May

Royal Free Hospital

Dan Martin
Sonia Renwick
Martin Grey
Mike Spiro

National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Val Luoma
Holly Chamarette

The Whittington

Trudi Young
Duncan Wagstaff
Henry Lewith

The Lister Hospital Stevenage

Shan Gowrie
Jon Bramall
Lucy Collison
Josephine Mansell

Princess Alexandra Harlow

Kevin Hamilton
Alexander Leigh

Barnet/Chase Farm

Jeremy Dawson
Clare Morkane

Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital

Paul Bhalla
Bhavin Shukla

Charing Cross

Francesca Rublotta


Jon Cousins
Dave Magee
Catherine Cashell
Gurleen Kooner

St Mary's

Glenn Arnold
Olivia Clancy
Nicole Whitehead
Vanesa Garnelo Ray


Jonathan Handy
Zara Edwards
Melanie Davis-Hall,
Melissa Addy
Paul Halford
Marcela Vizchaipichi

Royal Marsden

Shaman Jhanji
Tim Wigmore
Linsey Christie
Lauren Sidon

Northwick Park

Munita Grover
Prasan Panagoda
Lara Howells
Charlie Cartwright

Central Middlesex

Munita Grover
Richard Doyle
Megan Griffiths

Hillingdon Hospital

Emma Casely
Andrew Holgate
Stephanie Rich
Maria Henriksson


Sian Jagger
Kate Tatham

West Middlesex

Miriam Kadry
Claire Aylward


Ajoy Pandit
Savviz Mehdipour

Guys/St Thomas'

Cheng Ong
Heena Bidd
Suneil Ramessur
Sibtain Anwar
Nadia Blunt
George Perrett

The Royal London/Barts

Anil Visram
Annie Hunningher
James O'Carroll

The Homerton

Finn Nesbit
Danny Turton

Whipps Cross

Chris Barringer
Peter Dannatt


Venkat Shenoy
Peter Keogh


Bobby Krishnachetty
Fiona Mendes


Janis Ferns

St Georges

Carolyn Johnston
Sam Bampoe
Hannah Williams
Chiara Tosini
Alessandra Parini

East Surrey

Ravi Kumar
Victoria Ferrier
Aman Gupta

Royal Surrey County

Matt Dickinson
Ben Carey

Ashford & St Peter's

Karthik Somasundaram
Samnthi Desilva


Arif Moghul
Kanika Dua
Sioned Phillips
Barry McHugh
Rachel Chapman

Frimley Park

Marcus Peck
Amy Sangam


Hadi Al-Sahaf

St. Helier

Sreekumar Kunnumpurath
Ramy Mottaleb
Kate Fletcher


Milind Bhagwat
Alex Eeles


Medway Maritime Hospital

Omar Siddique
Charlie Kennedy

QEQM, Margate

Roxana Sandru

Pembury, Tunbridge Wells

Naush Husain

East Surrey, Redhill

Aoife Canavan

Darent Valley Hospital, Dartford

Liesel Holler

Worthing Hospital

Lucy Barnes
Patrick Thorburn

Princess Royal, Haywards Heath

Will Shippam

Conquest, Hastings

Vidhi Patle

William Harvey, Ashford

Sindy Lee
Sara Mahgoub

Hurstwood Park

Will Shippam

Twitter Feed