Anaesthetic Viewpoint to Improve A Theatre’s Operating efficiency and Results

AVIATOR (Anaesthetic Viewpoint to Improve A Theatre’s Operating efficiency and Results) was the third project run by PLAN. Given the importance of theatre inefficiency, this prospective survey looked at the perceived reasons for theatre inefficiency from the eyes of consultant and trainee anaesthetists.

We recruited 40 hospitals across London and South East England who participate within the PLAN network. Data collection took place in January 2016 across a 5-day period. All elective work was included, except for elective obstetrics. Emergency work was also excluded from the data collection.

This project demonstrated that theatre inefficiency is a recurring problem across all 40 sites who submitted data, with none achieving the Royal College of Anaesthetist Standards for efficiency across all 3 markers reviewed.
The presence of an Anaesthetic trainee was felt to have had a positive impact on theatre efficiency in the majority of instances, and educational reasons were infrequently cited as contributing to inefficiency.
There were a small number of recurrent factors leading to theatre inefficiency, which were consistent across London; of which only one was related to clinical parameters, with the remainder being related to non-clinical factors such as patient transport and staff being available.
Individual sites demonstrated differences in the factors which lead to theatre inefficiency - this may provide scope to develop future quality improvement projects focusing on these issues.
Site specific data was disseminated to sites in January 2017, along with overall pan-London data. A subset of the data looking at the perceived impact of trainees on theatre efficiency was presented at the 2017 AAGBI Winter Society meeting, with the corresponding abstract published. Further abstracts are being developed for submission, in addition to a paper with more in depth statistical analysis, aiming for publication in Autumn 2017.

Data analysis and writeup ongoing


Dr Kate Grailey
Dr James O'Carroll
Dr Mevan Gooneratne
Dr Anil Visram
Bart's and the London School of Anaesthesia (NE)

Further info email: plan@uk-plan.net


Core Committee

Daniel Martin
David Highton
Carsten Bantel
Harriet Wordsworth
Helen Laycock
Phil Hopkins
Sibtain Anwar
Carolyn Johnston
Pete Odor
Sam Bampoe
Sioned Phillips
Anil Visram
Mevan Gooneratne
James O'Carroll


Sanjeet Chana
Venkat Shenoy

Whipps Cross

Zainab Aboud
Holly Blake
Chris Barringer

Royal London Hospital

Ashley Parker
Richard Armstrong
Anil Visram

Homerton University Hospital

Nicholas Walker
Lionel Davis

Newham Hospital

Sundeep Govind

Queens Hospital

Tom Barnes
David Burtle
Ahmer Mosharaf

Southend Hospital

Dominic Nielson
Bobby Krishnachetty

Broomfield Hospital

Natalie Gravell
Dan Bell
Agnes Watson


Hannah Lewis
Arun Sahni
Sibtain Anwar


Jennifer Gosling
Miriam Kadry


Zara Edwards
Stacey Calvert
Ajoy Pandit

St Mary's

Edmund Chan
Justine Lowe

Royal Marsden

John Weissmann
Vimal Grover


Nadia Masood
Helen Hume Smith


Michelle Le Cheminant
Junia Rahman


Daniel Solomon
Kausi Rao


Cathy Challifour
Emmas Caseley


Tamara Bannerjee
Vinnie Sodhi


Martin Gray
Pau Bhalla

University College London

Christopher Groves
Ed Burdett

Royal Free Hospital

Julia Benham-Hermetz
Dan Martin

North Middlesex

Judit Sallai
Ferenc Kovari

B & CF

Robert Brogan
Jeremy Dawson


Alex Wickham
Val Luoma


Edward Gilbert-Kawai
Kevin Hamilton

Kings College Hospital

Paul Stevens
Shaima Elnour

Princess Royal University Hospital

Nisha Pattni
Roshmi Kumar

Guy's & St Thomas' Hospitals

Ellile Pushpanathan
Yosha Prasad

Evelina Childrens Hospital

Ben Thorpe

QEH Woolwich

Ania Dean
Charlotte Verney
Philip Dart
Concilia Dipura

University Hospital Lewisham

Isabelle Reed
Silvia Leonardi

Tunbridge Wells & Maidstone

Hannah Warren
Megan Thomas
Kevin Fai


Elena Stanton
Badrinath Manikundalam


Matt Samuels
Sam De Silva
Matt Dickinson


Samson Ma
Milling Bhagwat

St Heliers Hospital

Andrew Peethamsingh
Sreekumar Kunnumpurath

St Peters

Rob O'Donnell
Alice O'Neil

St Georges Hospital

Nirav Shah
Carolyn Johnston

Croydon University Hospital

Tom Lewish
Vanessa Cowie

Twitter Feed